Back in the Saddle Again…

As most high school students are trying to enjoy their last morsel of summer, staying up late and waking up at noon, the students at Detroit Cristo Rey High School are beginning their second week of school. Here at DCRHS, our students start the year a bit earlier and their days go longer – and we have a lot to get done! My name is Kajal Ravani, and I am lucky enough to be the college adviser at DCRHS. This will be my second year of service, and I couldn’t be happier to get started!

For many of my students, college has been an elusive goal. Most students have heard about it and have quickly dismissed the thought, largely due to financial constraints and below-average test scores. They are not aware of the grants and scholarships available to them or of the services that will help them transition into college life. Breaking down these barriers of low self-confidence and lack of knowledge on college is easily as integral as the tangible roles of my position, such as helping with applications, giving application fee waivers and assisting with the FAFSA.

These responsibilities are so gratifying; honestly, it’s hard to put into words how satisfying this job can be. I know that I give my students information that they likely would not have received without a college adviser in the school. While I give this to my students, I would be remiss to pretend I am the only one doing the teaching. As a college adviser, you gain incredible skills that you will take with you no matter where you go, and a lot of these experiences come from what your students will teach you.

Dolores and IMe looking shorter than usual next to one of my students – she is one of a few DCR alum that are going on to become Spartans this fall! Go Green!!

The students we serve are often handing responsibilities way out of the norm for what a teenager should be dealing with. They teach me to be the best, most hard-working version of myself every day, no excuses. Many are working to put food on the table, taking care of family members and dealing with emotional matters that many adults have not yet faced – college may not be the first thought on their mind. If I’m not on my game, my students could miss out on opportunities. Yet, they have taught me that there is a time to work and a time to laugh with them, be silly and get to know them for the charismatic young people that they are.

Part of my job entails co-teaching a College Readiness course to all of our seniors. On the first day of class, I told the seniors to begin this year with the end in mind. In a short nine months, these students will undergo a major transformation. They will have to make a plan for their life after high school, their life away from the comfortable and sheltered halls of Detroit Cristo Rey.

And as the year starts off, I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I, too, will continue to undergo my transformation that started last Fall. I had no idea of the profound impact that serving as an adviser would make on my life. As I start my job search, I am very aware that I would be lucky to find a job that brings me so much fulfillment. I would be so lucky to find a job that I look forward to going in to, working with a population that is as charismatic, goofy, and full of potential as my students are. I find myself giving the same advice I give my students – to enjoy their last year. If I may be so cliché, Ferris Bueller said it best, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it”.

DetroitCristoREy

Part of the DCR Class of 2015

Leave a comment