Tales of a Shy Adviser

20160108_160252.jpgI will be the first to admit that I am a shy person. I always have been shy, but this job has changed that.  Walking into the school on my very first day, I was terrified. I was sure to eat a nutritious breakfast before I left, and made sure to leave extra early. I took some anxiety medicine and walked into the door. I acted like everything was fine, but on the inside I thought I was going to pass out. I smiled at students and teachers as I’m sure they were all wondering who I was. I arrived in my office and couldn’t turn on my computer or phone. It seemed like my room sat empty all summer and felt as if I wasn’t welcomed. I had second guessed this position and my role at Ionia High School for a few weeks, but I had the support of my family, friends and co workers every day. I believe that was what kept me from leaving mid- year. I had my first student meeting (which was even more terrifying than my first day of school). I put a sign in sheet on the outside of my door so students could make an appointment with me. As the week went on the list continued to grow. A few weeks into the school year I felt a little more comfortable with my position in the school, so I decided to meet with those students. Each and every meeting went more smoothly.
It had been maybe a few months and I started to realize how important this job was. Not only was this job important to Ionia High School, but it was important to me. I was a first generation college student, and I never had the support that I am giving IHS. I am able to help people and prepare them for the world, while also getting prepared for the “real world” myself. I can confidently say that I am no longer that person who freaks out over the little things. I can walk into a room, give a lecture, meet with students, their parents, and can even say that this job was a perfect match for me. I’ve learned so much and have grown as a person in ways I didn’t think was possible. I am humbled and honored to have gotten the opportunity to work in this position, and would recommend this job to anyone, especially those people who were just like me pre 2015-2016 school year. 
 
Leave a Reply

